Logic List Mailing Archive

Call for Nominations: 2005 Goedel Prize in Theoretical Computer Science

2005 Godel Prize Call for Nominations

The Godel Prize for outstanding papers in the area of theoretical computer
science is sponsored jointly by the European Association for Theoretical
Computer Science (EATCS) and the Association for Computing Machinery
Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory (ACMSIGACT).

This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place
alternately at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages, and
Programming (ICALP) and the ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC).

The thirteenth presentation will take place during STOC 2005, Baltimore
MD, May 22-24, 2005. The Prize is named in honor of Kurt Godel in
recognition of his major contributions to mathematical logic and of his
interest, discovered in a letter he wrote to John von Neumann shortly
before Neumann's death, in what has become the famous P versus NP
question. The Prize includes an award of $5000 (US).

The 2005 Award Committee consists of Giorgio Ausiello (University of Rome
"La Sapienza"), Laszlo Babai (Chair, University of Chicago), Pierre-Louis
Curien (CNRS, Paris 7), John Reif (Duke University), Jeff Ullman (Stanford
University) and Paul Vitanyi (CWI, Amsterdam).