Logic List Mailing Archive

John Hale wins the E.W.Beth Dissertation Prize 2004

******************E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize Winner****************

The selection for the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize for the year 2004 is
concluded.  After careful deliberation the committee has reached the
following decision:

- The E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize 2004 has been awarded

			John Hale

from Michigan State University for the thesis

	`Grammar, Uncertainty and Sentence Processing'.

(PhD awarded in the year 2003 at Johns Hopkins University).

The abstract of the thesis can be found at:

FoLLI would like to congratulate the winner for his excellent thesis, and
to thank all applicants who responded to the call for submissions and the
members of the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize Committee (Anne Abeille,
Natasha Alechina (chair), Nissim Francez, Valentin Goranko, Larry Moss,
Gerald Penn, Manfred Pinkal, Christian Retore, Rob van der Sandt and
Henriette de Swart) for doing a great job.

An award ceremony will take place during ESSLLI 04 in Nancy, on Thursday
12th of August at 20:30. For further information see the ESSLLI 04 web
page: http://esslli2004.loria.fr/

Finally, our thanks go to the E.W. Beth Foundation which kindly sponsors
the prize.

On behalf of FoLLI,

Raffaella Bernardi