Logic List Mailing Archive

Workshop 'Logic and Multiagent Systems' (LAMAS 2; Auckland NZ; August 2004)

Workshop Logic and Multiagent Systems (LAMAS 2)
Call For Proposals

Title: LAMAS 2
(Second Australasian Workshop on Logic and Multiagent Systems)
Length: 1.5 days
Dates: August 9 and 10
Hans van Ditmarsch, Stephen Cranefield, Thomas Meyer, Guido Governatori
Submission deadline: 15 May 2004
Venue: Sheraton Auckland Hotel, Auckland, New Zealand

LAMAS 2 (see http://www.cs.otago.ac.nz/lamas2/) is the second Australasian
workshop on Logic and MultiAgent Systems. It is a follow-up workshop to a
previous workshop on logic and multiagent Systems (LAMAS) held at the
University of Otago on 29 and 30 October 2002 (see
http://www.cs.otago.ac.nz/lamas/). LAMAS 2 is one the workshops associated
with the eighth Pacific Rim International Conference on Artificial
Intelligence (PRICAI), to be held in Auckland, New Zealand, August 9 - 13
August 2004 (see http://www.pricai04.info/default.asp, the submission
deadline for the main conference is March 15).

The workshop aims to provide a forum to foster lively and fruitful
discussion on issues involved in logic and multiagent systems.  
Particular topics of interest are:

 1. Specification, verification, and synthesis of multiagent systems 
 2. Belief revision, belief merging, and dynamic epistemic logics 
 3. Protocols concerning commitment and negotation 
 4. Logics of institutional agency 
 5. Non-monotonic reasoning, automated reasoning, and model checking

We solicit regular research papers presenting advances in any area of
relevance to the workshop themes. We target researchers active in (but not
necessarily restricted to) the topics of specific interest listed above.
We encourage submissions overlapping more than one of the targeted areas
of interest, to broaden the interest for workshop participants from
different backgrounds. We encourage submission of ongoing research, in
order to ensure lively discussions and in accordance with the 'workshop'
character of this event.

Issues such as modelling multiagent system dynamics, communication
languages and protocols for agents, and standardisation, are increasingly
related to various logical tools and other formal methods. Also, topics
such as belief revision, nonmonotonic reasoning, knowledge fusion and
knowledge merging, and belief base management, are increasingly
investigated from relatively new grounds in informatics opened up due to
developments in modal logics, in particular deontic, epistemic and dynamic
logics, and multimodal combinations of those. Partly, such new approaches
have a more computational, or computationally feasible, motivation, a
definite advantage in view of implementing multiagent systems or model
checking their properties. The workshop is intended to support and
consolidate the growing interest in agent systems and logics.

Workshop Format
Papers accepted for presentation will be grouped by theme and will be
given between 30 and 45 minutes for presentation. We aim for 10 to 12
presentations. Information on the precise format of the proceedings is not
yet available. We are in discussion with the Australasian Journal of Logic
(see http://www.philosophy.unimelb.edu.au/ajl/) about the possibility of a
special issue devoted to papers from this workshop.

* Paper submission deadline (electronic submission): 15 May 2004
* Papers should not exceed 12 pages
* Author notification: 1 July 2004
* Final versions due (electronic submission, format to be specified
  later): 15 July 2004
* Submissions to be made to: Hans van Ditmarsch, hans@cs.otago.ac.nz

Program Committee
Johan van Benthem, Universities of Amsterdam and Stanford, NL/USA
Marco Colombetti, Politecnico di Milano, Universita della Svizzera
italiana, Italy/Switzerland
Samir Chopra, City University of New York, USA
James Delgrande, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Norman Foo, NICTA-UNSW, Sydney, AU
James Harland, RMIT, Melbourne, AU
Andreas Herzig, IRIT, Toulouse, France
Wiebe van der Hoek, University of Liverpool, UK
Barbara Dunin-Keplicz, Warsaw University, Poland
Willem Labuschagne, Otago University, Dunedin, NZ
John Lloyd, ANU, Canberra, AU
Alessio Lomuscio, King's College, London, UK
Ron van der Meyden, NICTA-UNSW, AU
John-Jules Meyer, University of Utrecht, NL
Abhaya Nayak, Macquarie University, Sydney, AU
Maurice Pagnucco, NICTA-UNSW, Sydney, AU
Simon Parsons, City University of New York, USA
Antonino Rotolo, University of Bologna, Italy
Abdul Sattar, Griffith University, Brisbane, AU
Rineke Verbrugge, University of Groningen, NL
Wayne Wobcke, UNSW, Sydney, AU

Keynote invited speaker
Norman Foo, NICTA/UNSW, Sydney, Australia.

Organizing committee
- Hans van Ditmarsch, University of Otago, New Zealand,
- Stephen Cranefield, University of Otago, New Zealand
- Guido Governatori, The University of Queensland, Australia
- Thomas Meyer, National ICT Australia / UNSW, Australia