Logic List Mailing Archive

ASSC William James Prize: Call for nominations


The ASSC William James Prize for Contributions to the Study of

Each year one prize will be awarded for an outstanding published
contribution to the empirical or philosophical study of consciousness by a
graduate student or postdoctoral scholar/researcher within 5 years of
receiving a PhD or other advanced degree.

The prize consists of: a) An award of $1000 (USD), b) Invitation to
address an ASSC meeting (Travel, accommodation, and registration paid by
ASSC), c) Lifetime membership in ASSC.

Nominations, including self nominations, should be sent to Phil Merikle,
Chair, ASSC Prize Committee (pmerikle@uwaterloo.ca). The nomination letter
should include a brief statement as to why the contribution is
outstanding, and for co-authored publications, there should be a statement
describing the nominee?s role. To be considered, the contribution must be
published or accepted for publication.  An electronic copy of the
contribution should be attached to the nomination letter.

Prize Committee:
Ned Block, New York University
Christof Koch, California Institute of Technology.
Phil Merikle, University of Waterloo
Petra Stoerig, Henrich-Heine University D?sseldorf

Deadline for submission of nominations is April 1, 2004