Logic List Mailing Archive

CfNominations: Simon Award of the IACAP, deadline: 20 December 2023

Dear Colleagues,

On behalf of the executive board of the International Association for Computing and Philosophy (IACAP), I seek nominations for the 2024 Herbert A. Simon Award.

The Herbert A. Simon Award for Outstanding Research in Computing and Philosophy recognizes scholars at an early stage of their academic career who are likely to reshape debates at the nexus of Computing and Philosophy by their original research. Previous recipients of the award include:

2023: Kathleen Creel (Northeastern University)
2022: Björn Lundgren (Utrecht University)
2021: Carissa Véliz (Hertford College, University of Oxford)
2020: no award
2019: Juan M. Durán (Delft University of Technology)
2018: Thomas C. King (Oxford Internet Institute)
2017: Andrea Scarantino (Georgia State University)
2016: Marcin Milkowski (The Institute of Philosophy and Sociology of the Polish Academy of
2015: Michael Rescorla (University of California-Santa Barbara)
2014: Gualterio Piccinini (U Missouri- St. Louis)
2013: Judith Simon (University of Vienna)
2012: Patrick Allo (Vrije Universiteit Brussels)
2011: John Sullins (Sonoma State)
2010: Mariarosaria Taddeo (University of Hertfordshire; University of Oxford)

The Covey award will be presented at the 2024 conference, July 8-10, in Eugene, Oregon, USA. See the IACAP’s website for our CFA:https://www.iacap.org/iacap-2024-call-for-abstracts-and-symposia-proposals-university-of-oregon

Please send your nomination(s) through our online form: 

Please fill in the form no later than December 20, 2023, for full consideration. If you have any questions, please email me at b.a.lundgren@uu.nl (please CC iacap@ballsun.com). Or contact the IACAP board through Slack.

Please note that the board will prima facie consider around 10 years from receiving a PhD as a cutoff for whether a scholar is at “an early stage of their academic career.” If you for some reason want to nominate someone who received their PhD more than 10 years ago, please state clearly why the board should make an exception. Alternatively, consider whether the individual contribution is sufficient for consideration of the Covey award.

All the best,
Björn Lundgren
Vice President, International Association of Computing and Philosophy
[LOGIC] mailing list, provided by DLMPST
More information (including information about subscription management) can
be found here: http://dlmpst.org/pages/logic-list.php