Logic List Mailing Archive

CfNominations: Covey Award of the IACAP, deadline 20 December 2023

Dear Colleagues,

On behalf of the executive board of the International Association for Computing and Philosophy (IACAP), I seek nominations for the 2024 Covey Award.

The Covey Award recognizes senior scholars with a substantial record of innovative research in the field of computing and philosophy broadly conceived. Recipients of the prestigious award include:

2023: Oron Shagrir (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

2022: Shannon Vallor (The University of Edinburgh)

2021: Helen Nissenbaum (Cornell Tech, New York City) 

2020: no award

2019: John Weckert (Charles Sturt University)

2018: Deborah G. Johnson (University of Virginia)

2017: Raymond Turner (University of Essex)

2016: Jack Copeland (University of Canterbury, New Zealand)

2015: William J. Rapaport (University at Buffalo, The State University of New York)

2014: Selmer Bringsjord (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

2013: Margaret Boden (University of Sussex)

2012: Luciano Floridi (University of Hertfordshire)

2011: Terrell Bynum (Southern Connecticut State University)

2010: John R. Searle (University of California, Berkeley)

2009: Edward N. Zalta (Stanford University)

The Covey award will be presented at the 2024 conference, July 8-10, in Eugene, Oregon, USA. See the IACAP’s website for our CFA:https://www.iacap.org/iacap-2024-call-for-abstracts-and-symposia-proposals-university-of-oregon

Please send your nomination(s) through our online form:


Please fill in the form no later than December 20, 2023, full consideration. If you have any questions, please email me at b.a.lundgren@uu.nl (please CC iacap@ballsun.com). Or contact the IACAP board through Slack.


All the best,
Björn Lundgren
Vice President, International Association of Computing and Philosophy
[LOGIC] mailing list, provided by DLMPST
More information (including information about subscription management) can
be found here: http://dlmpst.org/pages/logic-list.php