Logic List Mailing Archive

Konf. zu Popper (fwd)


Wednesday, 3 July 2002 ? Sunday, 7 July 2002


The international Congress planned to celebrate the 100th anniversary of
the birth of Karl Popper (1902-1994) will open officially under the
patronage of the President of Austria Dr Thomas Klestil in the late
afternoon of Wednesday 3 July 2002 and close in the late afternoon of
Sunday 7 July 2002.  Meetings will be held at the campus and in the main
building of the University of Vienna, and in the City Hall (Rathaus),
which is adjacent to the University main building.

The work of the Congress will be arranged in seven sections.

1 Philosophy of the physical sciences
2 Philosophy of the biological sciences
3 Philosophy of the social sciences
4 Moral & political philosophy
5 Logic & scientific method
6 Epistemology & metaphysics
7 Life & times of Karl Popper

Invited lectures and symposia are planned for all sections.  Contributed
papers relevant to Popper's work will be invited in all sections (though
papers tackling problems appropriate to more than one section will be
welcome).  Potential contributors are asked to bear in mind that a
period of 30 minutes will be allotted to each contributed paper,
including discussion.  Full details of the form in which abstracts are
to be submitted will be provided in the official Call for Papers, which
will be circulated late in the summer of 2001 together with registration
and hotel booking forms.  The deadline for the submission of abstracts
will be early in 2002.  All abstracts will be refereed.  Letters of
acceptance will be mailed not later than 1 April 2002.  The Congress
languages are English and German.

For more information, please contact Gerhard Budin at the University of
Vienna, Department for Philosophy of Science, Sensengasse 8/10, A-1090
Vienna (fax: +43-1-4277-9476), preferably by e-mail:
<karlpopper2002.econ@univie.ac.at>. The Congress website situated at
http://www.univie.ac.at/karlpopper2002 will be kept up to date at all

overleaf:  Programme Committee, Organizing Committee
 Programme Committee

Hans Albert (Heidelberg)
Gunnar Andersson (Ume? Universitet)
Andreas Bartels (Universit?t Bonn)
Ingrid Belke (Stuttgart)
Michelle-Ir?ne Brudny (Institut d'?tudes Politiques de Lille)
Fred Eidlin (University of Guelph)
Volker Gadenne (Universit?t Linz)
Malachi Hacohen (Duke University, Durham NC)
John Hall (McGill University, Montreal)
Ian Jarvie (York University, Toronto)
Bernulf Kanitscheider (Universit?t Gie?en)
Hubert Kiesewetter (Universit?t Eichst?tt)
Makoto Kogawara (Kagoshima University)
Peter Markl (Universit?t Wien)
Allan Megill (University of Virginia, Charlottesville VA)
Karl Milford (Universit?t Wien)
David Miller, Chair (University of Warwick, Coventry)
Peter Munz (Victoria University of Wellington)
Alberto Mura (Universit? di Pisa)
Sandra Pralong (University of Bucharest)
Vadim Sadovsky (Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow)
Kurt Salamun (Universit?t Graz)
Peter Schroeder-Heister (Universit?t T?bingen)
Jeremy Shearmur (Australian National University, Canberra)
Renan Springer de Freitas (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Belo
Friedrich Stadler (Universit?t Wien)
Manfred St?ckler (Universit?t Bremen)
Geoffrey Stokes (University of Brisbane)

Organizing Committee

Gerhard Budin, Secretary (Universit?t Wien, Karl-Popper-Institut)
Volker Gadenne (Universit?t Linz)
Erich Kadlec (Karl-Popper-Institut)
Manfred Lube (Universit?t Klagenfurt)
Wolfgang Maderthaner (Verein f?r die Geschichte der Arbeiterbewegung,
Peter Markl (Universit?t Wien)
Siegfried Mattl (Universit?t Wien, ?sterreichische Gesellschaft f?r
Tamas Meleghy (Universit?t Innsbruck)
Karl Milford (Universit?t Wien)
Lutz Musner (Internationales Forschungszentrum Kulturwissenschaften,
Erhard Oeser, Chair (Universit?t Wien, Karl-Popper-Institut)
Herlinde Pauer-Studer (Universit?t Wien)
Kurt Salamun (Universit?t Graz)
Friedrich Stadler (Universit?t Wien, Institut Wiener Kreis)
Gerhard Zecha (Universit?t Salzburg)