Logic List Mailing Archive

Call for Nominations: Ackermann Award 2022, Deadline: 1 Jul 2022


(Note: there are no changes since the first call for nominations. However, 
since the first call was sent out in February and the deadline is July, a 
reminder might be helpful. Apologies for the extra mail.)

Nominations are invited for the 2022 Ackermann Award. PhD dissertations in 
topics specified by the CSL and LICS conferences, which were formally 
accepted as PhD theses at a university or equivalent institution between 1 
January 2020 and 31 December 2021 are eligible for nomination for the 

The deadline for submission is 1 July 2022. Submission details follow 

Nominations can be submitted from 1 March 2022 and should be sent to the 
chair of the Jury, Thomas Schwentick, by e-mail: 

*** The Award

The 2022 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at CSL
2023, the annual conference of the EACSL.

The award consists of

     * a certificate,
     * an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
     * the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings,
     * an invitation to the winner to publish the thesis in the FoLLI subseries of Springer LNCS, and
     * financial support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one
dissertation in a year.

*** The Jury

The jury consists of:

   * Christel Baier (TU Dresden);
   * Maribel Fernandez (King’s College London);
   * Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Paris-Saclay);
   * Delia Kesner (IRIF, U Paris);
   * Slawomir Lasota (U Warsaw);
   * Prakash Panangaden (McGill University);
   * Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL;
   * Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund), the president of EACSL;
   * Alexandra Silva, (University College London), ACM SigLog representative;
   * James Worrell (U Oxford).

*** How to submit

The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

    1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
    2. a detailed description (not longer than 10 pages) of the thesis
in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file); it is recommended to not squeeze as much
    material as possible into these (at most) 10 pages, but rather to use them
    for a gentle introduction and overview, stressing the novel results obtained
in the thesis and their impact;
    3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters
by other senior researchers (in English);
supporting letters can also be sent directly to Thomas Schwentick
    4. a short CV of the candidate;
    5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as
a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and
that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chairman
of the jury, Thomas Schwentick:

With the following subject line and text:

     * Subject: Ackermann Award 22 Submission
     * Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments

Submission can be sent via several e-mail messages. If this is the case,
please indicate it in the text.
[LOGIC] mailing list
Archive: http://www.illc.uva.nl/LogicList/

provided by a collaboration of the DVMLG, the Maths Departments in Bonn and Hamburg, and the ILLC at the Universiteit van Amsterdam