Logic List Mailing Archive

NMR 2022: Nonmonotonic Reasoning

7-9 Aug 2022
Haifa, Israel

Call for Papers

NMR 2022

Dates: 7-9 August 2022
Haifa, Israel

* Deadlines: 27 April & 4 May 2022 (EXTENDED)*

    The 20th International Workshop on Nonmonotonic Reasoning (NMR)

           August 7-9, 2022, Haifa, Israel

NMR 2022 is part of the Federated Logic Conference (FLoC 2022)

NMR is the premier forum for results in the area of nonmonotonic reasoning. Its
aim is to bring together active researchers in this broad field within knowledge
representation and reasoning (KRR), including belief revision, uncertain
reasoning, reasoning about actions, planning, logic programming, preferences,
deontic reasoning, argumentation, causality, and many other related topics
including systems and applications (see NMR
page, https://nmr.cs.tu-dortmund.de/).

NMR has a long history - it started in 1984 and has been held every two years
until 2020 and then every year. Recent previous NMR workshops were held in Hanoi
(virtual, 2021), in Rhodes (virtual, 2020), Tempe (2018) and Cape Town (2016).
Since 2020 NMR is being held annually. NMR workshops are usually co-located with
the KR conferences (kr.org).

As in previous editions, NMR 2022 aims to foster connections between the
different subareas of nonmonotonic reasoning and provide a forum for emerging
topics. We especially invite papers on systems and applications, as well as
position papers and papers addressing benchmark issues. The workshop will be
structured by topical sessions fitting to the scopes of accepted papers.

The workshop will be held in Haifa, Israel, from 7 to 9 August 2022. Workshop
activities will include invited talks and presentations of technical papers.

-- Invited speakers --

Thomas Eiter, TU Wien
Pierre Marquis, CRIL-CNRS/Université d’Artois, Lens, France (Joint DL/NMR
Serena Villata, CNRS - Laboratoire d'Informatique, Signaux et Systèmes de

-- Submission Information --

Papers should be at most 10 pages in KR style including references, figures, and
appendices, if any. The author kit can be found on the KR 2022 website
(https://kr2022.cs.tu-dortmund.de/submission.php). Papers must be submitted in
PDF only.

Please submit via Easychair to: https://easychair.org/my/conference?conf=nmr2022

Papers already published or accepted for publication at other conferences are
also welcome, provided that the original publication is mentioned in a footnote
on the first page and the submission at NMR falls within the authors’ rights. In
the same vein, papers under review for other conferences can be submitted with a
similar indication on their front page.

-- Workshop Proceedings --

The accepted papers will be made available electronically in the CEUR Workshop
Proceedings series (http://ceur-ws.org/). The copyright of papers remain with
the authors.

-- Student Grants --

A limited number of student grants will be made available, to support the
students attending NMR 2022.
Preference will be given to students that are going to present a paper at NMR
and with limited access to funding.
Please check on the website: https://sites.google.com/view/nmr2022/students

-- Best Student Paper Award --

A Best Student Paper Award will be assigned with support from GULP, the Italian
Association for Logic Programming.

-- Important Dates --

All dates are 'Anywhere on Earth', namely 23:59 UTC-12.

- Paper registration deadline: 27 April 2022 (EXTENDED)
- Paper submission deadline: 4 May 2022 (EXTENDED)
- Notification to authors: 8 June 2022
- Application for student grants: 12 June 2022
- Notification for students grants: 15 June 2022
- Camera ready version: 20 June 2022
- Workshop dates: 7-9 August 2022

-- Workshop Co-Chairs --

- Giovanni Casini (CNR), Italy
- Laura Giordano, Università del Piemonte Orientale, Italy

-- Conference Chair --

- Ofer Arieli, Academic College of Tel-Aviv, Israel

-- Program Committee --

- Leila Amgoud, IRIT - CNRS
- Ofer Arieli, The Academic College of Tel-Aviv
- Christoph Beierle, University of Hagen
- Alexander Bochman, Holon Institute of Technology
- Richard Booth, Cardiff University
- Loris Bozzato, Fondazione Bruno Kessler
- Francesco Calimeri, Università della Calabria
- Jim Delgrande, Simon Fraser University
- Dragan Doder, Utrecht University
- Thomas Eiter, TU Wien
- Wolfgang Faber, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt
- Eduardo Fermé, Universidade da Madeira
- Nina Gierasimczuk, Technical University of Denmark
- Lluis Godo, IIIA - CSIC
- Jesse Heyninck, Technische Universität Dortmund
- Antony Hunter, University College London
- Tomi Janhunen, Tampere University
- Souhila Kaci, Lirmm
- Antonis Kakas, University of Cyprus
- Rafael Kiesel, TU Wien
- Gabriele Kern-Isberner, Technische Universitaet Dortmund
- Sébastien Konieczny, CNRS
- Vanina Martinez, CONICET - Universidad de Buenos Aires
- Tommie Meyer, University of Cape Town and CAIR
- Xavier Parent, TU Wien
- Simona Perri, Università della Calabria
- Ramon Pino Perez, Université d'Artois
- Laurent Perrussel, IRIT - Universite de Toulouse
- Gian Luca Pozzato, Università di Torino
- Jandson S. Ribeiro, University of Hagen
- Tjitze Rienstra, Maastricht University
- Ricardo Rodriguez, F.C.N.yN.-UBA
- Ken Satoh, National Institute of Informatics and Sokendai
- Gerardo Simari, CONICET - Universidad del Sur
- Guillermo Simari, Universidad del Sur
- Umberto Straccia, ISTI - CNR
- Christian Straßer, Ruhr-University Bochum
- Leon Van Der Torre, University of Luxembourg
- Ivan José Varzinczak, Univ. Artois and CNRS
- Serena Villata, CNRS - Laboratoire d'Informatique, Signaux et Systèmes de
- Renata Wassermann, University of São Paulo
- Emil Weydert, University of Luxembourg
- Stefan Woltran, Vienna University of Technology
- Jessica Zangari, Università della Calabria
-- Further Information --

Please visit the workshop website (https://sites.google.com/view/nmr2022/) for
further information and regular updates.

NMR 2022 will follow the same contingency plans as FLoC 2022 with regard to the
effects of the global pandemic on international travel. See the FLoC 2022
website for the latest news.
[LOGIC] mailing list
Archive: http://www.illc.uva.nl/LogicList/

provided by a collaboration of the DVMLG, the Maths Departments in Bonn and Hamburg, and the ILLC at the Universiteit van Amsterdam