Logic List Mailing Archive

Ackermann Award 2022: The EACSL outstanding dissertation award for logic in computer science, Deadline: 1 Jul 2022


Nominations are now invited for the 2022 Ackermann Award.
PhD dissertations in topics specified by the CSL and LICS
conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a
university or equivalent institution between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2021
are eligible for nomination for the award.

The deadline for submission is 1 July 2022. Submission details follow below.

Nominations can be submitted from 1 March 2022 and should be sent
to the chair of the Jury, Thomas Schwentick, by e-mail: thomas.schwentick@tu-dortmund.de

*** The Award

The 2022 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at CSL
2023, the annual conference of the EACSL.

The award consists of

     * a certificate,
     * an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
     * the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings,
     * an invitation to the winner to publish the thesis in the FoLLI subseries of Springer LNCS, and
     * financial support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one
dissertation in a year.

*** The Jury

The jury consists of:

   * Christel Baier (TU Dresden);
   * Maribel Fernandez (King’s College London);
   * Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Paris-Saclay);
   * Delia Kesner (IRIF, U Paris);
   * Slawomir Lasota (U Warsaw);
   * Prakash Panangaden (McGill University);
   * Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL;
   * Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund), the president of EACSL;
   * Alexandra Silva, (University College London), ACM SigLog representative;
   * James Worrell (U Oxford).

*** How to submit

The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

    1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
    2. a detailed description (not longer than 10 pages) of the thesis
in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file); it is recommended to not squeeze as much
    material as possible into these (at most) 10 pages, but rather to use them
    for a gentle introduction and overview, stressing the novel results obtained
in the thesis and their impact;
    3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters
by other senior researchers (in English);
supporting letters can also be sent directly to Thomas Schwentick
    4. a short CV of the candidate;
    5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as
a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and
that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chairman
of the jury, Thomas Schwentick:

With the following subject line and text:

     * Subject: Ackermann Award 22 Submission
     * Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments

Submission can be sent via several e-mail messages. If this is the case,
please indicate it in the text.
[LOGIC] mailing list
Archive: http://www.illc.uva.nl/LogicList/

provided by a collaboration of the DVMLG, the Maths Departments in Bonn and Hamburg, and the ILLC at the Universiteit van Amsterdam